Dear Mrs. Edith,
Because of the rule “Respect other golf players” it is not allowed to interrupt or distract other players. Probably your partner has not done that on purpose and so you do not have the right to retry the hit. Only if someone interrupts you on purpose you are allowed to retry the hit.
In practice some people retry a hit because of interruption but that is not correct in most cases. If this happens according to rule 27-1 a penalty shot and a distance loss has to be disposed.
Unfortunately, Mrs. Edith, I don’t have better news for you, but I hope the other player invited you to a compensation drink afterwards.
Let's move on to the next question:
Sepp from Austria asked:
We have a fence on our golf course which is marked OUT. On the other side is a road, which is not part of the golf course, but behind that road the golf course continuous with a fairway. In order to get to the other side, you have to go through a door in that fence. It sometimes happens that someone does not close this door after walking through and so the fence door becomes a barrier on the fairway. What happens, if a golf ball stops because of that door? Is it part of the OUT-fence or is it a movable or immovable obstacle and is it allowed to close the door to continue the game?
Do you know the answer? In our next golfinfo in 2 weeks we will present the answer.
If you would like to know more about golf rules or respectively about the CD-Rom (golf rules from Gernot Pausch) kindly contact Mr. Pausch (firstname.lastname@example.org) or visit his website www.golfregeln-online.at. He would be happy to give you further information and advice.