Ball moved in peace? Penalty?
We had a discussion yesterday. During a practice swing on the fairway, the ball was hit and offset. Is there a penalty stroke for this?
When is a ball considered to be at rest?
Definition:
Moved
A ball is considered to have moved when a stationary ball leaves its original position and comes to rest in a different place and this is visible to the naked eye (regardless of whether anyone can see it).
This applies regardless of whether the ball moves upwards, downwards or sideways from its original position.
If a stationary ball swings back and forth (also known as "oscillating") and remains in its original position or returns to it, it has not moved.
In principle, rule 9.4b applies
9.4b Penalty for picking up or deliberately touching the ball or causing it to move
If the player picks up or deliberately touches his stationary ball or causes it to move, he incurs a penalty stroke.
But there are four exceptions:
Exception 1: Player may pick up or move the ball: It is not penalised if the player picks up the ball or causes it to move because a rule
- allows the ball to be picked up and then returned to its original position,
- requires a moving ball to be returned to its original position, or
- requires or allows the player to drop or place a ball again or to play a ball from another location.
Exception 2: Ball accidentally moved before the ball is found: There is no penalty if the player inadvertently causes the ball to move while attempting to find or identify it (see Rule 7.4).
Exception 3: Ball accidentally moved on the green: There is no penalty if the player accidentally causes the ball to move on the green (see Rule 13.1d), regardless of how this happens.
Exception 4: Ball inadvertently moved off the green when applying a rule: It is not a penalty if the player inadvertently causes the ball to move while off the green in an appropriate manner
- marks the position of the ball or picks up or returns the ball if this is permitted (see Rules 14.1 and 14.2),
- removes a movable obstruction (see Rule 15.2),
- restores deteriorated conditions if he is authorised to do so (see Rule 8.1d),
- takes relief under a rule, including when determining whether relief is available under a rule (for example, when swinging a club to determine whether there is obstruction by a circumstance) or determining where relief should be taken (for example, when determining the nearest point of full relief); or
- measuring according to a rule (for example, to determine the sequence of play under rule 6.4).
In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.