Ball moves at rest
Question:
What should be done if the ball moves during the backswing or stroke?
If the player's stationary ball begins to move after the player has started his stroke or the backswing for a stroke and then executes the stroke, the ball may not be put back,
the ball may not be put back, regardless of what caused the movement.
Instead, the player must play the ball from the place where it comes to rest after the stroke.
If the player causes the ball to move, see Rule 9.4b to determine whether a penalty is incurred.
Penalty for playing a ball from the wrong place in violation of Rule 9.1: Basic penalty according to Rule 14.7a.
Rule 9.4b: If the player picks up his ball at rest or deliberately touches it or causes it to move, he incurs a penalty stroke.
In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.