Malere Landschaft mit schneebedeckten Bergen im Hintergrund, grünem Golfplatz und ruhigem See. Der Himmel ist klar und blau, umgeben von dichter Vegetation.

Does Chip receive a penalty because he moved his ball when he fell? And where does he have to continue playing from?

rules of golf cartoon

Is the penalty stroke correct?

I am of the opinion that it is not intentional and therefore falls under accidentally moved.

Answer:

There are only two exceptions where no penalty is incurred if a ball is moved in play:
1. ball moved while searching Rule 7.4 -- ball must be returned to original spot without penalty.
2. rule 13.1d -- If ball or ball marker moves on the green

No penalty for accidentally moving the ball on the green. There is no penalty if a player, opponent or another player in counting play inadvertently moves the player's ball or ball marker.

In all other situations - whether intentional or unintentional - there is a penalty (a penalty stroke) for moving the ball and the ball must be returned to its original position.

In this case, the decision is correct - the player receives a penalty stroke and must return the ball to the original spot with a penalty stroke or, since he is in a penalty area, he can also proceed according to Rule 17 (with the addition of an extra penalty stroke).

In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.