Double green
What rules apply if you play a chip on a green with 2 flags (e.g. the 7 and the 11) and the ball rolls directly into the hole? But into the wrong one. In other words, if you should play the 7, but the ball rolls into the 11.
- 1. in principle, this is an accident. The ball is taken out of the wrong hole without penalty and placed in the nearest place (not closer to the hole).
- 2. relief from the wrong green:

In the event of obstruction by a wrong green, relief must be claimed without penalty.
The illustration is based on a right-handed player. Ball "A" is on the wrong green and the nearest point of full relief is "P1", which must be in the same area of the course as the original location of the ball (in this case the terrain). The relief area extends one club length from the reference point, is no closer to the hole than the reference point and must be in the same area of the course as the original location of the ball. The player must take full relief from the wrong green.
3. if this double green is not marked as such, the ball is not on the "WRONG GREEN" and you must play the ball from the spot where it was taken from the wrong hole and not placed closer to the hole at the nearest point. You can/may also use any club to play the ball that you carry on the round.
In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the rules of golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.

