Malere Landschaft mit schneebedeckten Bergen im Hintergrund, grünem Golfplatz und ruhigem See. Der Himmel ist klar und blau, umgeben von dichter Vegetation.

In the field

Ball moved unintentionally during test swing and is now 3 metres from its original position

A.) Does the ball have to be put back?
B.) or can the ball be played from the new position (without a penalty stroke) by adding the unintentional stroke (movement by test swing)?
C.) Is there a penalty stroke? And the ball must be put back?

Rule 9.4 does not give me an answer!

Answer

Rule 9.4a

If the player picks up his ball at rest or causes it to move, the ball must be returned to its original position (which, if not known, must be estimated).

A trial swing is not a stroke according to the rule definition, as the ball was not intentionally hit.
Resting ball has been moved
Putting the ball back with a penalty stroke

Rule 9.4b

If the player picks up or deliberately touches his ball or causes it to move, he incurs a penalty stroke.

If the ball would not be returned to its original place in such a case, the player receives two penalty strokes for playing a ball from the wrong place.


In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.