Malere Landschaft mit schneebedeckten Bergen im Hintergrund, grünem Golfplatz und ruhigem See. Der Himmel ist klar und blau, umgeben von dichter Vegetation.

Player wants relief because of an animal hole in the bunker

Question: Is it possible to claim relief under Rule 16.1c for an animal hole in the bunker? And whether you can examine a bunker without penalty to see whether tree roots, rocks or other obstacles affect your shot?

In principle, this is permitted as long as the player does not improve conditions that affect his shot.

There are also two interpretations:
Rule 12.2b Interpretations:
12.2b/1 - Rule 12.2b applies to a sand mound of an animal hole in a bunker

If a player's ball lies in a bunker on or near a mound of sand that is part of an animal hole, the restriction in Rule 12.2b(1) on touching the mound of sand applies. However, the player may claim relief from the Animal Hole (Unusual Space) under Rule 16.1c.

12.2b/2 - Whether player may examine a bunker
8.1a/7 confirms that a player may examine anywhere on the course (including a bunker) without penalty to determine whether tree roots, rocks or other obstructions could affect his shot, as long as the player's actions do not improve conditions that affect his shot.

Example: If a player's ball comes to rest in a bunker near a drain, the player may use a tee to examine the sand to determine the extent of the drain and whether it will affect his shot.
However, if the purpose of the examination is to check the condition of the sand, the player is in breach of Rule 12.2b(1).

In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly hans.kienesberger@golf.at.