Malere Landschaft mit schneebedeckten Bergen im Hintergrund, grünem Golfplatz und ruhigem See. Der Himmel ist klar und blau, umgeben von dichter Vegetation.

The following problem: Penalty, yes or no?

A player's tee shot comes to rest in the woods. The player picks up a ball, thinks it is a stray ball, but then realises that it was the ball in play. The player then decides to continue playing with a stroke and loss of distance.

Decision: The player cannot avoid the penalty stroke due under Rule 9.4b by deciding to play on with stroke and loss of distance.

See also: Interpretation 18.1/2

The player incurs a penalty stroke under Rule 9.4b, in addition to the stroke and loss of distance penalty under Rule 18.1, because the player was not permitted to pick up the ball at the time it was picked up and the player had no intention of continuing to play with stroke and loss of distance. The player's next stroke is his fourth stroke.

In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.