Malere Landschaft mit schneebedeckten Bergen im Hintergrund, grünem Golfplatz und ruhigem See. Der Himmel ist klar und blau, umgeben von dichter Vegetation.

Trial stroke

Question from a reader on the subject of test firing:
In this regard, I (unfortunately) also hear different explanations from "marshals".
The ball is in the ground: the player is basically in the "address position". He touches the ball and it moves, but the player explains afterwards that he had no intention of hitting the ball - it was a test shot!
What is the rule on this? - Is it to be counted as a stroke or not?

Answer:
The ball is in play, therefore the player has moved the ball at rest, ball must be put back with a penalty stroke!

In the meantime, if you want to know more about the rules of golf, please contact me directly hans.kienesberger@golf.at.