Waste Area: Bunker or terrain?
Question:
My ball landed in a waste bunker where I was allowed to put the club down. However, the ball was right next to the edge and I decided to declare it unplayable and drop it.
My question - does the ball have to be dropped back in the bunker even in a waste bunker?
Answer:
According to the rules, a waste area is not a bunker, but terrain. Therefore, it would not be a problem if the correct relief area is also outside the waste area in this case.
In the meantime, if you would like to know more about the Rules of Golf, please contact me directly at hans.kienesberger@golf.at.